Expat Laura
Reflection on 2003
2003-12-31 | 11:18 p.m.

It has been a good one, and one that has passed all too fast. I still don't have the time under my belt that one needs to be circumspect, but subjectivity rules! And so, my thoughts on 2003 - the year of discovery.

And so it began so totally un-memorably that I can't even remember what I was doing. I have a feeling I was in Australia - perhaps - although doing what, God knows. And then January flew by in a wave of losing the big V (ouch) to W and working...sometimes. And lots of dates, cinemas and house visits - kind of a constant that year.

And in terms of friends and family, losing a brother to Boarding School (he loves it really) and making new friends - Fatty/Lardy/Eleanor, that's you my dear - and keeping old ones...Kirsty and Bangkok. And who can forget the big University trek and meeting lovely people and getting excited about the future.

And the beginning of the school year, being a big girl now - and being accepted into Universities (!!!), losing a few friends, growing up and finally realising what I want, and even a little of who I am.

But who can sum up an entire year in words? As K says, I am too wordy so here in 2003 in 20 words (and K and Lardy, I challenge you to do the same):

falling in love, new beginnings...then the end. friends made and lost but some forever. chasing rainbows, finding myself. memories.

and then the clock strikes 12 and the beautiful princess turns into cinderella, with nothing left but a shoe to show for who she was. no prince, no frog but somewhere there's a happy ending.

previous | next