Expat Laura
based on a true story
2004-02-22 | 9:48 p.m.

Just watched the most depressing film ever: Seabiscuit.

I have learned from experience to avoid any film where the tagline is a) triumph over adversity b) based on a true story or c) both. Unfortunately SB fills both these criteria, thus was quite a dodgy film. The problem with adaptations from real life is you don't know where dramatic licence has been taken -did the jockey and SB really break both their legs at the same time!?!? I think not. And so on.

Just to add to the melee, SB also contained a very sad scene where parents of little boy pushed him off to live with random horse people for a better life. These utter act of love and care sent me into floods of tears so bad I ran into Vati's arms and had to be consoled for about 5 minutes. This doesn't happen oft' so was very upsetting, then once was there was overwhelmed by loneliness, all the things I don't tell them etc and got even more upset, crying like the baby I thought I wasn't. Very sad indeed.

This proves my theory that I still can't take any films involving a) breaking up b) separation c) unconditional acts of love or even d) little kids running around and 13 year old boys wearing tights (Peter Pan was sad, OK!). Since the breakup this has become markedly more pronounced, although to the extent where I have to go running to Vati was unexpected to say the least. So here's to comedy films, to action filsm, to blood and gore films. But absolutely no love, separation, based on a true story. Hmph.

previous | next