Expat Laura
a leg! a leg!
2004-12-20 | 6:05 p.m.

Australian accents are the way forward.

There's something soothing about an Australian accent. They make any kind of news seem that much more acceptable and, dare I say it, anything said with an Australian accent sounds that bit more happy! And hopeful!

Today, for example, I went to the Doctor who told me I had a chest infection. But his charming Australian Doctor-ly manner and typically Australian understatement melted my fat-clogged heart. I would imagine that if, say, I had to have my leg amputated he would say it in the same slow, casual and laid-back manner, "Well Laura, we'll be needing your leg today...can you just sit on the table? I'll just shuck it off right here. Easy peasy." And indeed I would be fine with it because he's the kind of Doctor who says that "at least it's your leg, and not your face". Wise words, and something I think we could all do with considering when faced with a bad situation (or even an amputation).

Australian accents invoke images of chilled-out, relaxed and beachy Neighbours-style people. They also invoke images of my scary, Barbie-esque tennis coach who looks like a Cindy doll but acts like Hitler but with a racquet and 2 balls stuffed into her shorts (and is thus infinitely more scary and dangerous).

previous | next