Expat Laura
making love and babies
2005-04-16 | 8:20 p.m.

Talk about pulling a proverbial rabbit out of the proverbial hat - it's a terrible cliche but me and WorkBoy have moved from 'having sex' to making love.

I fear that WB and I are morphing into some kind of huge cinematic cliche and that we will wake up and find ourselves on the set of 'You've Got Mail', 'Two Weeks Notice' or some other terrible Rom-Com (though knowing my luck, it's more likely to be 'Dawn of the Dead' or '28 Days Later').

Making Love - in so much as I have experienced - seems to involve a) a great deal amount of eye contact at all times b) maintaining an intense and soul searching gaze c) whispered sweet nothings such as 'You're so amazing' or 'This feels so right' (feel free to gag/vomit whenever you want) and d) movie-style shots of an arched back, fingers raking through hair etc.

This contrasts with justSex which seems to involve a minimal amount of eye contact but liberal dirty talk and animal-style clawing of the back.

Even though I'm not technically In Love with him, I appreciate the sentiment and act. He is sweet and caring and wants to make me happy - what a wonderful boyfriend. And, I think that us Making Love really is making me love him just a little bit more.

previous | next