Expat Laura
politcally unminded
2005-04-22 | 8:53 p.m.

I had the worst night of 2005 tonight as I went out with WorkBoy and his friends for a drink at the local bar. WorkBoy, being a politics student, is naturally opinionated but even he reached new levels of obnoxidity as they started discussing amongst things: the forthcoming election, how to dispose of nuclear waste, house prices in the North East of England and the failures/succeses of the National Health Service. I was ignored, thrown the odd, token question and felt largely invisible for the best part of 3 hours. On the way home, I cried as I walked down the street.

His friends are older by up to 5 years. His friends are leaving University in 3 months so it hardly matters that they might think I'm rude or have WorkBoy completely under the thumb. But even though I might never have to see them again, the worst part of the evening was that I left feeling small, stupid and completely unwanted. I lied and made my excuses to leave claiming I had other plans with other friends but that we would meet up in town later (a lie as I am sitting here in PJ's with no intention of moving more than a handspan away from chocolate). WorkBoy said he wanted me there as 'his girlfriend' - something nice he can have on his arm, more like.

So now it's Friday night and I've shut off all my other options and WorkBoy is supposed to be coming round at some indefinite point to sleep over. My plan: not to wait for him, to take a sleeping tablet, pass out and wait til the morning and hope I feel better. Everything looks better in the morning, right?

previous | next