Expat Laura
clingy as the film
2005-04-29 | 5:58 p.m.

Whilst WorkBoy is undoubtedly the perfect boyfriend and pretty much a perfect person, there is one thing that he just cannot do - tell me off, put me in my place and generally give me a good talking to when I step out of line.

Consequently, I have learned that I can get away with pretty much everything. I can throw unreasonable hissy fits, cry, scream, shout and act like a complete child and the most bizarre thing of all is that he will apologise to me and try and make up with me, as if he's the one who is in the wrong. How this works I just don't know.

I know that I am his first love and loves me more than anything, that he will walk all the way home from work to be with me for an hour only to have to trudge back again, that he will walk to the supermarket to get stuff for me, that he will always come back if we have an argument. And that has made me complacent and sometimes downright mean because I know that he will be there, no matter what. How messed up is that?

The Ex-Boyfriend never took any crap. I couldn't get away with any of the stuff WorkBoy let me get away with and damn right too. But I can't stop myself from doing this to him and everytime he tells me he loves me, that he wants to be with me, that he needs me I find myself getting more and more evasive and seeing just how far I can push him. I thought only boys got cold feet and got scared of clingy-types. Never in a thousand years did I think it would be me.

previous | next