Expat Laura
hypocrisy
2003-08-07 | 12:28 p.m.

Thought du jour: If you're single, are you the Woody in the toyshop of love?

A couple of Christmassess ago, Toy Story was all the rage. All the characters were on sale, but it was Buzz Lightyear who was the 'Toy to Have' that year. All the Woody's were left on the shelf.

Are singletons those Woody's in the toyshop of love?

What does it mean if you don't have a boyfink? Why are we defined by what we do and do not have instead of who we are?

I am terribly worried that this year will be a continuation of last year i.e moaning about non-existent love lives and then screwing ourselves over royally chasing after men and moaning some more. I am the least to talk, for I am the kween moaner of the world. But I just don't know what to say to make it better, or try and get it over to them that they are wonderful and they don't need a guy to be happy. I know I am lucky, and still have my boyfink. I don't understand why they long for something so much now when there is so much more than these gaylord HK guys, in the future.

I'm confused actually. I don't know how I want to handle all of "that" again - people saying they feel incomplete without a guy (and all the stuff which goes against my somewhat feminist sensibilities) etc etc. And whatever I say is pretty rubbish because I am still with boy. It's like the pot calling the kettle black (?isit?)

Am I the worst kind of hypocrite? A wannabe feminist who writes long letters and e-mails for her boyfriend? I cannot stand hypocrisy - K remember our pact!! If I am ever doing a HG (head girl) please whack me hard.

previous | next