Expat Laura
bag weekend
2003-10-18 | 5:04 p.m.

This weekend has been a particularly bag weekend. And when I say bag, I mean bag.

I have bought 3 bags this weekend. THREE WHOLE BAGS! Now, by anybody's reckoning that is an obscene amount of bags to buy in 2 days. No one needs 3 bags, plus the stupid number of bags I already have (AT LEAST 10 at a conservative estimate). I have as much use for bags as the next person but for some reason I am compelled to buy them. Especially tacky, useless bags.

Damn bags, or rather damn temptation. I think I topped all my previously tacky bags as of today as I bought a bag made from the plastic casing of industrial animal feed, it looks a bit like a rubbish bag with straps. Because don't we all want a rubbish bag, is what I have always said! This is on top of my bag made from recycled orange juice cartions which has now fallen apart.

Alas, what can one do but buy stuff to put in the bags is what I ask myself. So an astonishing $500 later I have a scarf and other useless things like eyeliner to put in the bag.

I totally blame you, Eleanor for this rampant orgy of money spending. Tsk. But a good lunch, and a good bitch as always. As I have always said (another insightful saying) there was a famous cat called BAGpuss so bags cannot be that evil.

previous | next