Expat Laura
sorrow
2003-12-14 | 6:19 p.m.

I ran into Maggie on the bus on Saturday after dragging myself out shopping and talked to her about my party, and eventually asked her if she was hurt I didn't ask her/them. She was really cool about it - saying we're cool as friends, we can talk easily but we don't go out with each other etc - implying that we're not that close which I agree with, and I was amazed at the tact way she put it. Which makes the Hilary thing more puzzling.

I don't understand how they can think that I would even think of inviting them, since a) we don't go out together and b) we don't talk. I would assume, considering those facts that we are not very close, therefore it would be unnecessary to invite them. And it's wrong for them to make me fee guilty for not doing so, especially backstabbing to Kirsten about it - yes, that does make me more sympathetic to her cause. Just because she drifted away from them after breaking up with Ben - not even trying to make the semblance of an apology - did she really expect she'd be welcomed back with open arms?

So that's the thing with them 3, Rachel, Anna and Hil - that no matter how friendly they are, you know that you can't, or shouldn't, really tell them anything because they're not with us anymore. Not that they're against us....but certainly no longer a close friend. This is a shame. As I keep saying - who's going to be a beter friend in the long-run, us or Dani and Rhonda?

previous | next