Expat Laura
drone
2004-01-25 | 9:48 p.m.

Extremely boring 10 person lunch with Dad's boring coworkers.

Man:
Drone. Drooooone. Dronetty drone drone, McDrone.

Me out loud:
No way. Yup. Really?

Me in my head:
Wow, I wonder what happens if you go into a room full of old people. Will the different levels of moisture between their skin and mine cause some kind of diffusion gradient that drains moisture and youth out of my face like rain in the desert? I wonder how extreme the aging process has to be for this to happen. According to my figures I should be nearly dried out like a raisin having been surrounded by these oldies.

Man:
I am Droney O�Mindnumbing, and I�d like to introduce you to my dog, baaaaaaaaaa lubdub grabau drone drone mctits drone. Drooooone.

Me out loud:
You don't say. Yup.

Me in my head:
So if I was in a room with a baby would I be able to become 5 years younger looking and would the baby age 5 years? I wonder if there's an experiment I can set up where you put a teenager and 20 geriatrics in a room and see if the teenagers ages and the geriatrics become more youthful. Maybe I can measure the amount of vital lifeforce being lost in the air through some kind of smell test and trained sniffer dogs.

Man:
Long drawn-out drone reminiscent of the buzzing of a thousand bees ending in a question mark?

(pause)

Me out loud:
I�m sorry, what?

Man:
I asked you, �Drooooooooooooooone?�

Me out loud:
Yes, and I can't wait!

Man:
Oh, well, in that case, then drone drone drone, I am mentally sticking a fork in your eye drone.

Me in my head:
Maybe if the gradient is too big people would die or become so young they turn into foetusses. This study could have serious social and moral rammifications, I shall have to tread carefully. If I can get 5 babies, 20 old people and 5 teenagers maybe I can make it so that the babies become teenagers, the teenagers become old people and the old people become babies. I could make serious money doing this, like some kind of New Spa where you come out 80 years younger and your child ends up taking care of you because they're 80 years older. I could call it Re-juvinate and charge millions of dollars, whilst keeping myself young. I want a boat, and a house in Monte Carlo.

Man:
Drone drone drone drone, lunch is ready!

Me out loud:
Great! I'm hungry.

previous | next