Expat Laura
drowning in...
2004-06-28 | 6:05 p.m.

In the midst of packing for soon-to-be holiday in Koh Samui (time until takeoff - 2 days). Items in suitcase according to proportion are thus:

75% makeup and beauty products
20% clothes (a few bikinis, some cute shirts and pedal pushers, some sexy tops)
5% miscellaneous (music, shoes, camera, bags etc)

It seems shocking - nay, indulgent - that my packing is more than half beauty products (liable to loss, breakage etc) and about a quarter clothes. Surely, one cannot drastically improve one's face (ugly is as ugly does) but clothes hide a multitude of sins - flab, lovehandles, belly rolls, severe sunburn, scarring etc - with clothes. However, I live in hope that such a miracle is possible and the New Laura will be unleashed to the world, to "rave reviews and wide acclaim".

Either way, who gives a damn? I have a great boyfriend, a great girly girl holiday coming up (8 girls, one small island = danger) and University in 3 months. La vie est bien! ... Even if I end up drowning myself in the contents of my beauty kit. But I will report back in a week vis-a-vis drinking, debauched holiday situation. Hooray for the summer!

previous | next