Expat Laura
personality - or lack thereof
2004-08-03 | 5:59 p.m.

A really boring acquaintance came round the other day; between him and my Dad I wouldn't know who to label 'The Most Boring Man On The Earth'. I'll call him Snoozemeister because he truly is sleep inducing.

The reason he is so boring is because he views other people as passive ears, ears that listen and absorb what he is saying...and ears that don't do anything else. The crux of the problem here is that not only have we ears, but a mouth for talking and a brain for thinking, "Shut up, you gobshite!". Unfortunately, I can play the passive ear when I want to and as a result have impressed said Snoozemeister with my listening capabilities, been summoned to attend his boat party on August 12 and have no way of getting out of it.

The only thing worse than 1 Snoozemeister is 3, and Snoozemeister 1 has invited his close friends, SnzMstrs 2 & 3 to join him as well. Having never met the latter, I can't say that they're not vivacious, exciting and un-selfabsorbed people but surely having to listen to the drivel of Snoozemeister 1 means that they're more likely to be pallid, lifeless and boring.

On the plus side, I'll be the only girl (minus the 14 year olds) amongst many boys. On the minus side, I'll be the only wonderful, chatty and fun-loving girl in the middle of stiff, ultra-bland boys.

Call me picky, but there's something to say for personality.

previous | next