Expat Laura
The Boy Who Never Was
2004-08-10 | 7:18 p.m.

I met up with The Boy Who Never Was - a 'fleeting' crush of 2 years - for afternoon tea.

I did everything for TBWNW for 2 years. I wrote his notes, I did his homework. I listened to him bitch and moan about his girlfriend (and then his ex-girlfriend when it didn't work out). For 2 years, I was desperate for him to notice me. I bent over backwards to be the 'ideal' girlfriend-he-didn't-have-but-needed when really I was his ideal bitch. And when it finally happened - the kiss I had wanted for 2 years - it just didn't work.

And 2 years later, 2 years of him still trying to get homework/textbooks/notes off me, we met for the final coffee. He leaves to go to Canada, I'm going to England. I thought it was the chance for me to say that I had devoted 2 years of afternoons emailing him, that I would have - and did - anything for him, and what the fuck did he think he was doing?

It didn't work out that way. But I think we both knew that this coffee was a thank you for 2 years worth of your time from him and a I did like you for 2 years from me. There was an unspoken something - maybe that I had meant more to him than he had ever let on, maybe that I had been there for him when others hadn't, maybe just a simple thank you. But it was there.

It ended on a good note. He said goodbye, I said goodbye and that was enough. I wish all relationships (fictional, real, or almost-happened) could end in such a way.

previous | next