Expat Laura
thus conscience does make cowards of us all
2004-11-16 | 6:16 p.m.

We talked.

We talked until it was 5 in the morning and our eyes were drooping and our mouths dry and tired from smiling and laughing. Anticipation and exhaustion and more than a little bit of alcohol made everything blurry and confused and dreamfilm like. You came back to my room and held me tight and you didn't need to say anything more; you just held me until the sun began to rise sometime later (who can say for sure, you made me lose track of time). And when the room was tinted red with new sun and it seemed like the world was quietly asleep you made me feel all I've been missing out on for the past 2 months. You made me feel loved, care for, genuinely wanted. You made me feel safe.

What an illusion.

previous | next