Expat Laura
a conflict of interests
2004-12-15 | 11:26 a.m.

Me and my best friend made a pact for 2005: to find a boyfriend (in my case) and a girlfriend (in his case).

Sometimes I think J's everything I'd ever want in a man and I don't need to look any further than him to find The Perfect Boyfriend. He's funny - so much so that sometimes I end up with stomach cramps screeching on the floor - he's sensitive, he plays guitar (OK, my standards aren't very exacting but..)

It's more than that. I tell him everything - everything. When I thought I was pregnant, I asked him what to do. He came with me to get the pregnancy test. When The Liar left me broken and dry, he came and told me what a bastard he was.

More than that, he tells me when I'm being stupid or selfish or cruel and tells me to snap out of it or go and apologise. I hate doing it but wouldn't you know, it's the right thing to do and I know it.

It doesn't hurt that he's good looking (he has the most mischievous, naughty-little-boy smile you've ever seen) and he cares for women. He does. He won't sleep with them randomly (I'm the whore this twosome). He won't even go for a random kiss unless he's blindingly drunk.

He sounds like The Perfect Man. Sometimes I think he is. But he's also My Best Friend.

And that's Dangerous Territory.

previous | next