Expat Laura
white bread or manna?!
2005-01-06 | 8:08 p.m.

The old saying is true: manners maketh the man.

I'd like to say thank you to the lovely group of men who, collectively, stepped aside and let me board the bus first. I felt like a Princess entering her royal carriage amongst a posse (or similar) of waiting gentlemen. I love feeling like a Princess! It does, of course, make rather a change from feeling like a crackwhore.

2005 will be the year of 2 things: manners and no white bread. Manners are little drops of happiness and selflessness sent from heaven - a smile and a thankyou go a long way. White bread, on the other hand, is the Devil's poison (and it tastes so good too!).

So if only we could a) increase the general level of good manners circulating in the world (and I'll hold doors open, too) and b) decrease worldwide production of loaves of white bread ...I think I'd have my year sorted.

previous | next