Expat Laura
laura vs fat man
2005-01-12 | 11:48 a.m.

On the way back to the UK I was frisked at Amsterdam airport. Boy, did I get the frisking of my life. It was full body assault: a good squeeze of the breasts, a patting over the crotch, a firm sweep of the legs and up across the bum. To add insult to injury, she pulled up my top and ran her hands around the inside of my trousers in a suggestive, yet gross, fashion. I felt violated, if only because everyone was staring openly and, learning from my example, rushing to take off anything metal on their person.

In every other country they wave a magic metal detector wand over you and that is enough. But Holland's hands on attempt is novel, and it must be said, quite thrilling if you're a bit of an exhibitionist. That said, it's also embarrassing, humiliating and uncomfortable.

Air travel is generally uncomfortable and at worst, excruciatingly awful. I ended up sitting next to a Dutchman who was at least 6' tall and probably just as wide. The worst part was that I was sitting on the aisle and BeefyDutchMan was in the centre. Having offered to swap seats with him he replied, in a thick and absolutely Austin-Power-Goldmember accent, "That is my seat so that is where I will sit". Fine. Fuck you!

We were at a stand-off. He kept splaying his legs at angles ranging from 90 degrees to 180 and generally infringing on my personal space (all 30 cms of it). I kept glaring at him malevolently and kicking his feet back onto his side of the handrest. Yes, I can play tough when I want to.

Suddenly, an angel (read: stewardess) swanned down the aisle and waved her (imaginary) magic wand. She had obviously seen the fracas and intervened, in a gracious act of kindness and goodwill. Angel moved the BeefyDutchMan 10 rows forward and left me with an empty seat.

Score!

The moral of this story that this is a silver lining to every Fat Man and when in doubt, glare and kick like a 5 year old child having a tantrum.

previous | next