Expat Laura
a working woman (ish)
2005-01-14 | 3:09 p.m.

I went job hunting today. In 3 words it was pain and misery tempered with huge amounts of outright rejection (and that's even before the disaster that is Friday night!). I'm looking for a sales assistant-y type job (and let's face it - it hardly requires a University degree let alone 10 GCSE's). On paper I am a rich private school girl who has zero work experience and is, and always has, completely leeched off her parents. How appealing is that? Even I'm disgusted with myself.

But find work I must. The parents have decreed that I am wasting my life (and more importantly, their money).

Now all I have to do is cross my fingers and hope someone is looking for an extremely inexperienced (but literate) English student. Oh, and I want my own dressing room, don't even think of paying me the minimum wage and my own little fridge filled with Evian water.

previous | next