Expat Laura
a writer
2003-06-12 | 8:32 p.m.

People say my ability to write is a talent, a gift but they don�t see it for what it truly is,a prison. My words have created a prison in which I am the victim, who would truly sacrifice the gift of speech for the gift of writing?

Hours wasted when I was younger reading and learning and devouring books has stunted me, for what it�s worth speaking is by far more important that writing but they deny and lie about this. They are not the ones who need to write things down in an argument to get their head clear and point across, they are not the ones limited by not being able to respond quickly, needing to write everything down to make yourself understandable and straight talking, what a fucking curse.

So that�s what I have been led to believe, that the ability to be eloquent on paper means as much as being eloquent orally which is a load of bull, we don�t talk on paper we interact face to face. To live in the real world you need to be able to be fast and witty and as fluent as I can be on paper, what a curse to be restricted and imprisoned my own �talents� which I took so much time to foster, how bloody ironic.

Screw me for wasting my youth with books instead of talking, what use is a great writing ability if you can�t do fuck all with it because you can only communicate by writing. If I can only live with my pen and paper these words mean nothing to me, I will be forever haunted by immortal secrets that will never go away. To be a natural writer isn�t something you are born with, its something you work fuck hard for. Oh how much better I could have spent my time, the endless hours and the lonely arguments. Wasted time, wasted place, wasted person. Please give me my speech.

previous | next