Expat Laura
randomnessme
2003-07-17 | 6:48 p.m.

So just finished our 8 university trek around the UK and I am exhausted. ALTHOUGH I am quite excited too, cannot wait to leave the hell hole that is HK but not obviously wanting to leave friends behind. I have noticed several things whilst I've been here which I must write down before I forget.

First of all, men down south are better looking than up north. Now, this must be taken into consideration when choosing a Uni because I will probly feel better abt myself if surrounded by people of similar attractiveness. And after thousands of hrs spent long car rides around the country I have come up with a 'theory' that explains this 'hypothesis'. Oooh, a D in Science is worth somehting, eh?

Anyway, my theory is called the 'Dukes and Nobles Theory' - or my preferred name the Dicks and Nob Heads Theory. It goes a bit like this... ok it's a complete load of bullshit but one has to spend the lonely hours doing something - even if it is devising racist theories.

In the past, the South of England has traditionally been richer than the North. It has cities such as Oxford, Cambridge, London etc full of interlektuelle types whilst the North has traditionally been the abode of more hands on working class people, not toffee nosed snobs. So the northern cities are full of miners, factory slaves exploited by powerful Southern landlords etc.

So, when the great Noble famillies married in the South, their "genepool" has been educated, pampered young Dukes, Princes etc. Who married equally gorgeous blonde Princesses who had had their every need attended to. So, by process of "FILL IN THE BLANK SCIENTIFIC CRAP" they have produced lovely offspring as they have not had to work too hard in their lives, therefore creating less stress and injuries which somehow leads to lovely foetuses.

Whereas in the North although there would undoubtedly be handsome men their hard work would have tired their faces more than the Lords and Ladies down south. This therefore means that less importance is placed on looks, money etc. Creating less attractive babies.

This is such a racist theory and it doesn't actually work in practice.

Anyhows there we go. I did meet some interesting people at this massive party we went to though, people called - and this is not a joke...George Ffalasto-Thrift Morgan and if any proof is necessary that people descended from marriage between noble famillies are lovely looking then he is it.P>

My desired accent of the moment is most definitly scottish or posh english, what is really gross is that at 10 o clock one morning, well every morning whilst we were up north people would be having a chip butty which is really bread, ketchup and bread, OH NOT TO MENTION GREASY CHIPS inside.

Ok I am random.

We had a scottish breakfast this morning which was weird, I think we had haggis which was probly nice but not what I wanted at 8 30. We stayed with some friends of Mums and Dads who are Scottish - friends of my Mumds (dead) dad actually so I have been discovering my scottish heratige (ho ho ho).

Spelling and typing has gone off the wall now. Methinks I better go.

On a bum note suddenly slowing down and not being busy every day has led me to dwell more on Will or lack thereof. Keep crying which is horrible. And want to talk to him waay more than I have but due to travel, mobile expenses etc havent been able to. Willl it be this weird for a whole year? I know it won't, these are just teething problems.

Funny thoughts: rosebubble baths with will, being in the pool @ ann's with will, pretty much a whole year with will.

previous | next