Expat Laura
SHOPPING
2003-07-19 | 3:18 p.m.

Almost finished with the Uk although naturally do not want to return to steambath HK. Quite a satisfactory trip incl. of lots of shopping (for me), lots of family time and general eating --> fatass laura ---> more CLOTHES! which is also quite good.

As result of heatwave I have managed to buy pretty summer dresses which, due to quantity of food eaten I cannot fit into any more. The day we arrived marked the start of THE GREAT BRITISH SUMMER SALE, a disturbing affair where normally nice, calm young girls i.e yours truly are transformed into mad witches running around the sale part of stores and screaming "50% off!!" in a slighty lunatic way. The male half of the family thoroughly despise the GREAT BRITISH SUMMER SALE (I know, tis sacrilidge) and on more than one occasion have barred me entry to a shop on the grounds that "going shopping with you is like pouring money into a black hole". NOT TRUE!!

Well maybe. For example went into a department store and found a pair of trousers that were stripy and looked quite cool. HOWEVER, when taken outside the store, they look like pajama bottoms esp when paired with flip flops and t shirt - I mean they were only blue with lots of stripes etc, and a slightly worn look. I also purchased a pink dotty dress which, I swear to god looked FINE in the shop but in the harsh light that is day resembles a cotton candy dress.

Shopping. Ahh how I love it.

Anyhows, cannot wait to see the women esp Kirsty et Eleanor et Mitchell et Bhavnay and even Xoil. Whoo hoo! Almost there.

previous | next