Expat Laura
michelin tyres
2003-07-28 | 8:25 p.m.

Hurrah! Back with mes amies again and becoming a bit of a bookworm which is good - at least it keeps me busy. It's strange, actually felt quite sad leaving England this time which is unusual. It felt like one of my (many) heart strings was being tugged. I don't know, maybe it's time to move on from this place. I will be ready to go by the end of the year.

Either way it's good seeing Kirsty again (definitely one of those friends for life people) and enjoying mooching about trying to lose the michelin woman style fat I accumulatred during the holiday. Amazing how stubborn the human body is. Although I would be the last standing human should all the world's crops die, animals perish etc because of said fat, it does not make me feel better as I try and squeeze into clothes. Cries of "Michelin Woman" as I walk into school are already haunting me as I write.

Scary event today - going into shcool to try and pick up the Yearbook. Looked like a building site, and walked up stairs to reception...but it had gone!! Whole area gutted with wires hanging down, sparking, general mayhem etc. After calming myself down (in state of excitement had thought bomb had exploded or similar) and realizing it was the builiding work I proceeded to try and reach the swimming pool where it said reception was. Unfortunately there were 5 men and one large block of iron which they appeared to be smelting down - scary stuff. They did not stop for me, and wearing flipflops I was very worried that they might in fact scar my lovely tootsies. Anyway, the end story is that school is in chaos, I couldn't find reception (there is none?!) and hopefully it will not be done by Sept so we cannot return to school.

Had nightmare about exam results, where I was borderline A/B with psychology so Mr Colton had to take this painful bloodtest to determine whether I was A or B. This then repeated itself with all my subjects, the humiliation of having blood drawn in front of the whole school and them knowing you are inadequate. HMMM wonder what Freud would say.

OFF TO BANGKOK NEXT NEXT WEEKEND HURRAH! Major shopping opportunity, I can sense. List of stuff I need - bags, wallets, cloths etc. General girly malarkey. Hopefully K can come, t'would be excellent if she could!! Girl weekend! Esp good as is before results so if I fail (am so scared abt French and Psych) I will have (one) happy memory....

"You're halfway round the world and I'm just a day behind, nothing seems to fill the hole that I have since you left my side." Belgium - Bowling for Soup.

previous | next