Expat Laura
contacts
2003-08-05 | 5:16 p.m.

Went to eye doctor woman today and knew it was not going to be good news. Realized I could not see the license plate of the taxi literally 2 meters in front of us whilst driving into town, so was not expecting much, most likely partial blindness etc. I don't mind eye doctors as much as the other kinds i.e doctors/dentists (Satan's mignons in disguise) but still isn't my idea of fun.

Anyway after all the humiliating tests (Can you read the line..."I AM A BLIND GIT"), it turned out my brother had super vision, actually better than average and something stupid like 15/20 (or 20/15?) and I have one eye of a 50 year old and one eye, which used to be fine, slowly withering away. I mean there's nothing more depressing than knowing your own Mutti, aged 105, can probly see better than you.

As the end drew in sight the woman said I had to get a new pair of glasses, and I nodded meekly, somehow silenced by the awe of having someone look into your eye and say you are going blind (well maybe she can provide a cure). This surprised dear Mutti who I had argued extensivly with the night before, as I wanted contacts and in the end neither of us won, except I did! So I am now going to wear blindness preventing contact lenses, being fitted next week (quite worryingly, the eyewoman said "I hope you have a lot of time..the first time you put them in is always hard". What is it like, the first time you have sex!?!?!)

Otherwise I am worried about things with the small one but refuse to worry too much. Going to see FN with K tmr again, hurrah! I really don't know what I'll do without her this year, coping without W and delaing with upmyownarse Kirsten et Bhav. It's amazing how people from other countries are so much nicer than people from HK. Maybe it's something to do with the genepool? Either way I am making the most of it whilst I can.

Oooh have started writing a really bitchy article, which I think may be my first bestselling book. T'will be called Expose. I will sit in the CR and observe people, mostly my friends (and enemies) and reveal the truth about them and who they are under their false facades and all their bullshit. I will then print off 200 copies of the book and distribute it to teachers and students and proceed to run like billy-o out of the country. A foolproof plan.

previous | next