Expat Laura
The Queen
2003-08-18 | 10:18 p.m.

Feeling good, I shouldn't be such a miserable cow should I? I have plenty of things to be thankful for, I thought I'd brainstorm here and see what I have in my life and try to appreciate (oh dear, the mood swings again, obviously ovulating).

Things to appreciate

Obviously first and foremost my family, every one of them from Mutti and Vati to Jimmybob and the hag that calls itself my grandmother. I love my family depsite their idiosyncrasies i.e weirdness and the tendency to exagerate, being extremely stubborn and general aloofness.

Having the most wonderful boyfriend you could ever want, caring and kind and loving and accepting. Nuff said. It feels so right, despite the occasional doubts (and I think they serve to strengthen my belief in us). My first true love.

Best best friends, such as Will, K, Eleanor and those bobs in England. The people who have opened my eyes to better things, namely Sjoerd who showed me guys could truly, really, be nice with no ulterior motives. To Sjoerd for showing me that it's not just Will who's a freak for being a really good guy. In fact for showing me guys can be so nice you really feel for them and bitch and moan at them for actually being too nice and attracting too many women.

For having spent this Summer with K, my breastsister who knows things about me that no one else knows. A friend for life.

For having everything 'material' that I could want. For being healthy, generally happy and not having to worry about things that young adults shouldn't have to worry about i.e death from cholera, being beaten by Vati etc.

For being a real stubborn cow sometimes and not budging from what I think is right/wrong. Even though it might actually be wrong/right.

For growing up, however slowly it takes. For learning from everyone around me, especially my friends but not really saying thanks to them. For trying to understand and not be complacent with what I have and always wanting more,

For the future, because at least I have one.

I'm trying to cross that fine line between appreciative and gayness cloying suck upness and I'm not quite sure I managed to do either. Anyway, basically I really appreciate you my friends, despite how I sometimes act and never forget: I am the Queen of all, K you are my albino-pregnant deer with the earsight of a bat, Eleanor is my teapot fury kicking partner and Will will always be my first for everything.

previous | next