Expat Laura
bloodyboats
2003-08-20 | 10:50 p.m.

OH GAWD Bo-at even worse than expected.

Started off OK, met these two decent girls - one who reminded me of me - and we talked for a while and then our conv ran out of steam. I have a fixed list of questions I ask new people I meet, they're good conv. starters but unfortunately they both had the attention span of a drainpipe so I had to QUICKFIRE my questions and they ran out. Anyway it was one of those awkward situations where one girl knew the family better than any of us, so they had all their in jokes etc and everyone else bar those 2 famillies (i.e me) was left out.

Dinner went from bad to worse as all they were dirnking was beer (not liquid bread, liquid beerbelly) and I cannot stand beer. Everyone got completely sloshed, most notably Tom, Jordie, little bruder and the girl....and it was pathetic as they were just getting pissed for the sake of getting pissed on a weeknight in front of the rents. Anyway, didn't want to turn tomato laura so denied my glass of beer (sick in a glass) and as the evening progressed everyone got completely smashed except me....and as anyone knows, it sucks to be the only sober one on a table of drunkards.

It was weird, really. All their stories were "when i was pissed"/"remember the time after we'd had 10000 beers"/"i can't remember cuz i'd had 5 billion drinks" and it was like, hey dudes there's life outside alcohol and being pissed, you CAN have fun without having had 100 beers before. Tom has turned into a real arse, K as you'll remember I was slightly infatuated for one crazy summer, but seeing him tonight he's just a wacko. Instead, spent about 1/3 of the evning talking to his little bro and bitching Tom off which was quite fun, had a good laff with Jordie (living in his brothers shadow, it must be hard) and think I got to know him a little better. Also got into the psyche of a guy -

a) Told me a story about the "hot girl who was slutty" and the "pretty girl who was nice". So guys CAN tell the difference! There's hope after all.

b) That Tom really is an arse in disguise and however normal they are when they're 15, they can turn into an arse in one year

c) That guys, underneath the tourette's facade, can be decent guys i.e Jordie, and are only tourettes victims because they live in bruders shadow.

Anyway, thank god I'm off the boat. After having expressed my disgust at the evening and retardedness of the company, Mutti got very angry and started shotuing (slurredly) "Wellshcumtimes you just HAVE to do thesch things laura" and pointing her finger at me violently. Erlack, what a waste of my time.

previous | next