Expat Laura
ED
2004-01-14 | 6:48 p.m.

At the moment I'm constantly fighting with myself after eating, feeling guilty and horrible etc when I slowly gain the kilos and feel the flab go back on.

Despite this it's never got to the point where I have lost so much weight that people have said I look ill as whenever I lose weight it's moderate, but when I gain it back i.e apres Xmas, during winter, NOW....I really feel a) I need to exercise and walk after every meal to try and equalise the calories in and out b) guilty whenever I eat chocolate/anything sweet and c) I have started counting my calories again and get frustrated when I go over 1000 a day

This isn't the worrying thing though; I worry when I go to Uni it will get out of control and I will starve myself to anorexic levels. I mean, whenever I go through these stages I lose damn near a whole bra size and 5 kg and I don't even realise I have got thinner. I look at myself in the mirror and I can still see the horrible bits, and only looking back e.g a very bad bout in Year 11 do I realise exactly how much weight I had actually lost.

I know there teenage girls have a pre-occuption with their weight and that there is mental disorder type worrying about weight. I don't know how close I am to the latter, I worry that I will get closer and I don't know how, or when, to stop.

previous | next