Expat Laura
value of money
2004-01-21 | 4:10 p.m.

Hurrah! A good 3 hours of work done today, now just another 300 or so to go. The problem with working is that it detracts time from FunTime - time you can chat on the phone, put on face masks and preen, put on garish makeup and laugh at yourself (Eleanor!), clean bathrooms, paint nails, eat and that kind of thing. Reckon I'm doing quite well though what with exam in 2 days I know about 30% of the stuff, well on the way to failing horrendously.

Otherwise am bonding with the Vati (such a Daddy's girl - the Freudian connotations we'll just ignore) as he put in an extra $800 into bank account for some reason. Tried to reason with him - mostly scared I'll spend all the money as I did over Xmas and end up with $20 left for 5 people's birthdays - but I think it came across as being kind, generous and mature, thus am allowed to keep the money and he thinks he has raised someone of "upstanding moral worth" who "knows the value of money" and apparently I will "be served well in the future" as I know the pain of budgeting/saving. Which I don't, evidenced by orgyspending, +$1000 on clothes which cannot wear if plan to ever leave the house as it is too cold and they are flighty, gorgeous tops which are unsuitable for anything but catwalk shows, unfortunately can only do Milan, New York, London this year, poor little tops.

previous | next