Expat Laura
not my own words
2004-03-22 | 6:50 p.m.

Stolen from Andrew.

"In light of recent events, I started to think about an old saying that "it is better to have lost love than to never have loved at all". It this really true? Let me say that I have not felt (romantic) love or anything resembling it since my earliest days of high school, and even then it was a false feeling. So I sit here at age 21 never truly having experienced that emotion.

Is someone better off in that respect for once having love, then having it ripped away?

Obviously, I can only argue one side. Not too long ago I had said that I was glad never to have experienced it, because the absence of it now would kill me. So from my young, raw, maybe naive viewpoint, that saying is a croc of shit.

So what happens when we substitute "love" with another seemingly desirable emotion? Does that saying hold true or not? (Laura's example: it is better to have drunk madly and have thrown up violently than never to have drunk before). I argue that it still lacks validity for the same reason. But on the large scale, I must go against my previous statements.

I would much rather have a life like a roller coaster than a flat line. I know I'm tall enough to go on the ride; I'm not sure why the roller coaster hasn't started for me."

previous | next