Expat Laura
skrats!
2004-06-10 | 3:21 p.m.

The great thing about going to the hairdressers is you have a 1 in 1,000,000,000 chance of coming out looking like a supermodel. Being the eternal optimist, I'm waiting for that day but in the meantime, I like to think of a trip to the hairdressers as the poor man's version of Russian Roulette (and it's quite exciting enough for me, thank you).

I'm off to see my favourite hairdresser who I tracked down after I lost him a year ago. He charges an exortionate amount but I think it's worth it - in all fairness I have the biggest, fattest crush on this guy so of course he's worth it - and it's my one splurge thing ... that I get the 'rents to pay for. But here's the problem: as with any trip to any hairdresser there is a huge chance you'll end up looking like
- a boy
- an animal
- neither boy nor animal but something in between
- something from Planet of The Apes e.g Helena Bonham Carter
and that is scary.

So I have been scouring the net for pictures of hair that I can take in and then say make me look like Lucy Liu! but seem to have only come across backward '80s style hairdos which are all bouffant, curly, dyed with huge brown roots. I want sleek! Chic! Sexy! Gorgeous! Something that makes me look older!.

To make things more exciting/tension filled and worrysome I am also going in for some highlights and there is the chance I may come out looking like a skunk (or scunk, as E spells it - what a sweetheart/retard). Colours that are sounding good - dark golden brown, burgundy, deep red. Colours I will probably end up with - green, hot pink, electric yellow, neon green.

I am going to take a picture of my hair for prosperity, because soon it may look either rat-like, skunk-like or skrat like. Here's to trust(ing your hairdresser when all men doubt you).

previous | next