Expat Laura
brazilian style
2004-06-10 | 12:19 p.m.

Because it's coming into summer, I recently got the full Brazilian Wax done. No more hair! No more worries! No more...looking like an adult.

OK fine, I did it for the lovely boyfriend, but I believe I'm supposed to say (as all women are nowadays) that "I did it for myself...I do not need the support or encouragement of other people to feel good about myself". Moving on - that's right, I'm now sporting the I-Am-As-Bald-As-A-Coot look (and proud of it!).

The problem with waxing is two fold - the wax, and the ripping. First, boiling hot wax is smeared onto your delicate, sensitive skin. Ouch. Then, a lady gets intimate with pieces of cloth and a place where, to be fair, not many people go. Finally, in one fell "schhhhwwwhhip" (the sound of the strip being pulled of your skin, taking hair and most of the skin with it) - it's done. You're left with...bright red, inflamed skin. Sexy. The worst part? The magnifying glass and the pair of tweezers. I know, I still have nightmares today. And, does anyone bar your gynaecologist and your boyfriend ever see you in such a vulnerable and intimate position?

Anyway, it went OK considering it's completely and utterly painful (!!!) and I have factored in that sometime, I'm going to start growing back - horrible thought coming up - stubble. 5 o clock shadow, anyone?

previous | next