Expat Laura
scottish lassies
2004-08-20 | 11:45 a.m.

My best friend has returned from the Scotland bringing with her her best friend, a proper born-and-bred- Scottish lassie. The problem is I understand about 60% of what she is saying. Don't mistake me, she is lovely. But most accents leave me confused. A typical conversation:

SL: "Och, we're gooin oop to thur Jade Market noow"
L: "Yes..."
SL: "Would ye like 'oo cooom?"
L: What is she saying?! What if I offend her in some way by saying the wrong thing?!
SL: "Och aye, it's a hot 'un todaye, but weel doone on ye results Laurah ye make a fine gal to coom to Newcast-le with mee. Ey, I'll paaas ye o'er ooo Kier-sty nooow."

Very confusing indeed.

In other news, the scorching heat and 100% humidity has rendered most of Hong Kong housebound. Not me, though. I am a fearless warrior in the face of an oppresive weather system - I am making a 2 hour trek to tutor The Spawn of Satan (and also collecting my payment) - an easy $1000.

previous | next