Expat Laura
a blank LB
2004-10-21 | 8:32 p.m.

It's exhausting trying to teach someone how to be in a relationship.

It's like...training a monkey to do a tapdance. Or something. Basically, it's incredibly hard and time consuming and I have no patience anyway so I want to exchange him for another model most of the time.

No dear, it isn't acceptable for you to call me 15 minutes after you're supposed to be here and tell me you're laundry's taking too long. Or no dear, spending 12 hours in my bedroom doesn't count as a date, and taking me out for fishnchips isn't romantic or even dear, you really should tell your best friend that you have a girlfriend. Oh yes you should, yes, yes you should.

He missed out on forming his relationship skills during his teen life (being The OddBall he attracted few, or more zero girls) and that means I'm teaching him everything - every last manner, squelch, technique - everything that you normally would have learned, he hasn't. This isn't without its considerable benefits. I have a Blank Man to shape! To mould! He is a clean slate ready to be scribbled on!

But I don't know if I'm an artist.

previous | next