Expat Laura
a lesson in limits
2004-12-06 | 3:13 p.m.

It's the last week of the first term of the beginning of my new life.

Exactly. Confused is how I feel.

I've learned a ton of life lessons. I've learned that George is a lifesaver. I Love George Foreman and I'd like to make it official. Anything and pretty much everything will go into The George and it is guaranteed to come out delicious. Sausages, toasties and goldfish - bung 'em in The George and they're ready to go! (Ok, we didn't put little Alpine in there but he did die after we thought he might like to try Bailey's in his goldfish bowl). We loved it but it rather disagreed with him.

I've learned that men will, and indeed do, say pretty much anything to have their wicked way with you (and honestly, I did believe he was a footballer).

I've learned that work will not do itself and missing lectures to watch Trisha is not a valid use of time, even though she's really, really cool.

I've learned that good friends are all around if you can just be bothered to find them. I love my friends here, they suit me and my current lifestyle to a tee. When one has but 9 hours of contact time and week one needs good friends who are up for a laugh/eating for the other 120 hours. I've found my friends; I don't plan on letting them go.

Lastly, I've learned that my limit is 5 units of alcohol in 4 hours. Give me but 1 more and I will throw up all over myself, and probably you and everything around.

Who says you don't learn anything at University?

previous | next