Expat Laura
orange abuse
2005-01-21 | 2:07 p.m.

I like to think of sex as something warm and lovely and gooey, despite the fact the only goo I seem to attract is crap. Men who are crap and lack any sense of commitment and responsibility, job offers that never come and endless face-to-face rejection. Hurrah!

Maybe I should seek solace in something. Although, it must be said I'm not a big fan of the a) alcohol (hangovers and DT's not good) b) drugs (expensive and risk of disease, if intravenous) c) self-abuse (pain? I have the pain tolerance of a 5 year old).

Maybe I'll seek refuge in fruit and vegetables. I'll drown my sorrows in tomato juice and eat lots of bananas and oranges and really get stuck into the grapes and apples. What a way to turn conventional self-harm techniques on their head! Yeah, I could make headline news: girl, orange, dies from over consumption of fruit.

The again, you have your bad days and your good days, right?

(It must be said though, that this is feeling like a bad year. All 21 sodding days of it.)

previous | next