Expat Laura
spaceman
2005-05-12 | 7:35 p.m.

Is space ever anything but the final frontier?

WorkBoy did a shitty thing and sent me a text saying that he needs some space..'to think about stuff+us'. This was after a frantic Wednesday spent calling him, texting him and worrying as I thought a) he had died b) someone in his family had died c) I was going to die.

It was the rudest, most painful thing that anyone has ever done to me. He hung up on me every time I called (I told myself his phone was disconnecting), or left it to ring (I told myself he was at work and couldn't answer). When I texted him, nicely, and asked him what was wrong he didn't reply (I even convinced myself his phone had been stolen). But I was relatively restrained throughout the day.

But once night fell and I was alone and realised I had been deluding myself all day, I went into Bunny Boiler overload. I knew what I was doing and I knew it was freaky and probably scary, but when everything is fine on a Tuesday (or so you think) and then your boyfriend goes AWOL what are you meant to do? Stand by and let it happen? (Incidentally - yes).

The final straw came once I told him I was going to come into work and sort it out with him. Obviously, an unpleasant scenario for both of us so then the text came...it buys him a few days, and he says he is sorry.

My thought is that when anyone asks for space, what they're really saying is 'I am going to dump you in a painful and prolonged way that involves me uhmming and ahhing. Also, you're nice but not that nice any more so get the hint and piss off'.

I am preparing myself for the worst, because let's face it - when anyone asks for 'space' they will talk to their friends (who, as you will note from previous posts, hate me) and come to the logical conclusion: It's just not working anymore. I think we should break up.

Is space ever anything but the final frontier? No, it isn't. Space really is the beginning of the end.

previous | next